Last updated 29 Apr 2024

What's New
Moon etc
Contact Us
Site Map


MPC listed Observatories in Central and South Eastern England

Each marker indicates the location of a Minor Planet Center (MPC) registered observatory. Move your mouse over an observatory 3-character code to see the observatory name and click to link to a table below with more details. The full list of MPC observatories is available here. Map constructed from MPC codes registered to 16 Jan 2021.

Note: If your observatory is missing or shown in the wrong location, or you have a web site that you would like linked from here please contact me 
MPC listed observatories in Central and South Eastern England
000 Greenwich
001 Crowborough (1890-1904) (Isaac Roberts 1829-1904)
002 Rayleigh (F. Van Looy)
234 Coddenham Observatory (Tom Boles)
456 Daventry Observatory (Martin P. Nicholson 1955-2017)
477 Galleywood - inactive since 2002 (Martin Mobberley - see 480)
480 Cockfield (Martin Mobberley)
489 Hemingford Abbots (Alan Young 1936-1990)
490 Stone Park Observatory, Wimborne Minster (Mike Swan)
496 Bishopstoke - not active (Ron Arbour - see 979)
497 Ascot-Loudwater = Loudwater, High Wycombe (Stan Armstrong)
498 Earls Barton (Guy Hurst)
499 Cheam - not active (Peter Birtwhistle - see J95)
501 Herstmonceux
502 Colchester (Michael J. Hendrie 1931-2018)
503 Cambridge
576 Burwash (Alan Young 1936-1990)
582 Orwell Park (Orwell Astronomical Society, Ipswich)
940 Waterlooville (Roger Dymock)
951 Highworth (John Rock)
960 Rolvenden (Mark Armstrong)
964 Southend Bradfield (George Sallit)
967 Greens Norton (Neville)
968 Haverhill
969 London-Regents Park
970 Chelmsford (Nick James)
973 Harrow (Tupman)
976 Leamington Spa (Johnstone)
979 South Wonston (Ron Arbour)
984 Eastfield (Harold Ridley 1919-1995)
986 Ascot (Dr Reggie Waterfield 1900-1986)
993 Woolston (Dr Reggie Waterfield 1900-1986)
994 Godalming (Harold Ridley 1919-1995)
996 Oxford
997 Hartwell (John Lee and Captain W.H. Smyth)
998 London-Mill Hill (University of London)
A00 Clark Observatory, Gravesend (J. A. Clark)
C37 Stowupland (Lawrence D. J. Harris)
G09 SWF Observatory, South Woodham Ferrers (P. Breitenstein)
I63 Cygnus Observatory, New Airesford (P. J. Russell)
I64 Maidenhead (Adrian Jones)
I67 Hartley Wintney (G. Thurston)
I74 Baxter Garden Observatory, Salisbury (I. Walker)
I97 Penn Heights Observatory, Rickmansworth (Iain Melville)
J26 The Spaceguard Centre, Knighton (Jay Tate)
J33 University of Hertfordshire Obs., Bayfordbury
J68 Tweenhills Observatory, Hartpury (D. A. Miller)
J69 North Observatory, Clanfield
(0.40-m telescope David Briggs, Hampshire A.S.)
J73 Quainton (Mike Beales)
J77 Golden Hill Observatory, Stourton Caundle (Richard Miles)
J84 South Observatory, Clanfield
(0.60-m telescope David Briggs, Hampshire A.S.)
J88 Strawberry Field Observatory (Lawrence Harris)
J90 West Challow (David Boyd)
J92 Beaconsfield (D. Stokes)
J93 Mount Tuffley Observatory, Gloucester (John Fletcher)
J94 Abbeydale (Alan E. Cahill)
J95 Great Shefford (Peter Birtwhistle)
K01 Astrognosis Observatory, Bradwell (Americo Watkins)
K02 Eastwood Observatory, Leigh on Sea (P. Carson)
L97 Castle Fields Observatory, Calne (Eliot Hall)
Z15 Southwater (R. Sansome)
Z34 NNHS Drummonds Observatory (Steve J. Arnold)
Z37 Northolt Branch Observatory 3, Blandford Forum (Daniel Bamberger and Guy Wells)
Z42 Rushay Farm Observatory, Sturminster Newton (John Savage)
Z48 Northolt Branch Observatory 2, Shepherd's Bush (Daniel Bamberger and Guy Wells)
Z54 Greenmoor Observatory, Woodcote (George Faillace 1937-2020)
Z80 Northolt Branch Observatory (Daniel Bamberger and Guy Wells)
Z88 Fosseway Observatory, Stratton-on-the-Fosse - not active, see L97 (Eliot Hall)
Z91 Curdridge (Tom How)
Z94 Kempshott (D. Robb)

Home Whats New Location Equipment Software Methods Results  
Gallery Links Ephemerides Moon Meetings Contact Us Site map

Copyright 2003 - 2024 Peter Birtwhistle